bootstrap modal form

About us

Our Story

From then to now.

1971

When Marmot first started, its aim was to produce the best outdoor clothing and equipment. In April 1971, University of California Santa Cruz students Eric Reynolds and Dave Huntley were in Alaska on the Juneau Icefields on a school project in Glaciology. It was here on the glacier, amongst these students, that the idea of a Marmot club began. To become a Marmot, you had to climb a glaciated peak with another Marmot.

1971-73

That summer and through the semesters until 1973, Eric and Dave made prototypes of down products in their dorm room in Santa Cruz. Their first products were a down vest, a sweater and a parka and, later, three down sleeping bags. The warmest bag, the PIKA (now known as the Cwm) was rated at -45 degrees F.

1973

Eric did a winter ascent of the Grand Teton in Wyoming with Tom Boyce of Grand Junction, Colorado in 1973. Eric and Dave joined Tom in Colorado that next Spring. There, the threesome rented a 100 year old stone building near downtown, and opened a rental and retail shop under the name of Marmot Mountain Works. Thus, in the spring of 1974, Marmot the company was born.

1974

That fall, Tom was climbing in Peru. There he met famed adventure filmmaker Mike Hoover. A few weeks after his return, Tom received a call from Mike. Mike explained he was calling on behalf of 20th Century Fox, was filming something called The Eiger Sanction with Clint Eastwood, and needed 108 very puffy jackets. Within only a week, the Marmots had designed the Golden Mantle, a very puffy jacket. Marmot was now in the movies. It also had its biggest order to date.

Mobirise

1976

Eric met Joe Tanner of W.L. Gore & Assoc., Inc. in Elkton, Maryland in 1976. Eric was one of the first in the US to see a new concept in outdoor performance fabrication: GORE-TEX®. He was intrigued and, within a couple weeks, had sewn prototype sleeping bags in the new fabric for field testing. He and Dave proceeded to spend the next seven nights in a commercial frozen meat locker comparing bags with and without the GORE-TEX® fabric. Then they tested the bags sleeping under fire sprinklers. They liked what they saw.

The Marmot team immediately changed everything in the line to GORE-TEX® fabrications, including the down garments and all the sleeping bags. Marmot designed the first GORE-TEX® bivy sack. Marmot designed a GORE-TEX®, single fabric layer, mountaineering tent: the Taku. Marmot is the oldest customer of GORE in the world outdoor market.

1986

In 1986, Marmot yet again set a new benchmark in extreme technical clothing with its Alpinist expedition jacket and, by doing so, simultaneously created a real classic that has continued to be extremely popular even today. In addition Marmot has always ceaselessly developed its own fabrics and materials, such as for example, its extremely high-performance, waterproof and breathable MemBrain® in 1995.

2002

Marmot is now headquartered in Rohnert Park, California. It now has further offices in Colorado, Canada and Hong Kong. Since the mid-1990ies, the European business became more and more important. In 2002, Marmot Mountain Europe GmbH was founded, which had its headquarter in Schnaittach/Germany from 2004-2014. In 2014, Marmot Mountain Europe moved to its new headquarters in Schwaig. In 2010, the UK branch Marmot UK opened its doors.

Today

Marmot grew from 7 dealers in 1974 to 11 in 1977. Specialized, knowledgeable, trained retailers were always part of the original equation. Marmot has grown since 1977. It has 650 authorized Marmot dealers in the US and more than 800 dealers in Europe. Marmot distributes its products among 44 countries worldwide.

Future

However, the company has not changed that much in thirty six years. It is still all about the highest quality performance product. We are now, more than ever, seeking inspiration from professional mountain guides and athletes like Stefan Glowacz to develop products that are capable of withstanding all of the challenges that nature presents to us.

Our Responsibilities

Marmot is committed to a sensitive and sustainable approach towards all its stakeholders, employees, consumers, partners and public alike.

Mobirise

People

To create fair human working conditions, to support social initiatives and to foster a multi-cultural company philosophy.

Mobirise

Product

To produce the best outdoor equipment which meets the expectations of mountain professionals and enthusiasts.

Mobirise

Planet

To produce environmental friendly products and foster a global ecological awareness.


Social Sustainability

Marmot’s social engagement complements its ecologic engagement. Fair trade, compliance and the support of regional projects are part of the company concept. Marmot has confirmed its commitment to the principles of Integrity, respect for the individual, sustainability, performance excellence and accountability. Marmot holds all of its vendors and partners to the same high standards. The Vendor Compliance Policy (marmot.com/vendor_compliance_policy) obliges all of Marmot’s partners to respect internationally accepted standards of conduct. Among those are the payment of at least the minimum wage required by law, the limitation of overtime, the freedom of association, the prohibition of child labour and forced labour, the application of the non-discrimination principle as well as the promotion of health and safety at work.

Ecological sustainability

Our environmental protection policy is based on a measured and consistent approach to achieving greater sustainability. Our collections include more and more products that are made from recycled polyester, organic cotton and other environmentally friendly materials. Our choice concerning the use of such materials is based on the following premise: If we can achieve the same level or a better level of product performance using sustainable fabrics, we will use them. 

Marmot holds a core belief that building a quality product is the best way to reduce our overall impact on the environment. We build our products to last a lifetime, thereby keeping them from heading to landfill before their time. To compliment this philosophy of long lasting quality products we have also adopted a variety of sustaninability initives focused on reducing our manufacturing impact on our environment.

Initiatives

Today, Marmot would like to announce that ALL production as of Fall 2015 is PFOA Free. As result from phase 1 of our DWR Initiative, we have switched from a C8 fluorocarbon-based treatment to a shorter-chain C6 treatment, also fluorocarbon-based, but with by-products that break down faster in the environment and with less potential toxicity over time to humans, wildlife and fish.

Marmot is now into Phase 2 of the elimination of all PFC from our supply chain. Currently for Fall 2017, we have been able to convert or eliminate PFC from 68% of all of our products with no impact to performance or durablity.

Since Fall 2016, 100% of our Down Defender supply is PFC free. Marmot’s goal is to be completly PFC free on all product by 2019.

Marmot has adopted its Responsible Down Standard (RDS) - a third party certification standard that can be applied to any waterfowl-based supply chain to help ensure humane treatment of animals from gosling to end product. The goal of the RDS is to enable traceability and change the down industry as a whole, not just one brand’s supply chain. Marmot has committed to introducing certified down into their products beginning as soon as Fall 2015.

ALL down used for Sleeping Bags and Apparel for Fall 2017 is certified to meet RDS (Responsible Down Standard) to help ensure humane treatment of animals from Gosling to end product. 

Marmot is bluesign® system partner. bluesign® system partners are committed to applying the bluesign® system which unites the entire textile supply chain to jointly reduce its impact on people and the environment. The Input Stream Management ensures that approved chemical products and raw materials are used in all steps of the manufacturing process. Substances posing risks to people and the environment are hence eliminated from the very beginning. On-site inspections verify the proper application of such chemical products and raw materials in controlled processes and ensure the responsible use of resources.

For more information visit www.bluesign.com.

All Marmot products that contain recycled polyester are labelled UpCycle®, UpCycle®, because these products have been produced by turning a comparatively low-quality raw material, such as a plastic bottle, into a high-performance item of clothing – i.e. a fleece. Our use of Cocona® – which is a residue created during water filter manufacture that is chemically combined into polyester yarn and controls odour, regulates moisture, dries extremely quickly and provides UV protection – is another one of our efforts to use sustainable and ecologically sound materials wherever possible. Furthermore, Marmot uses environmental friendly materials throughout its in-house processes, such as environmental friendly printing paper.

Stay tuned

Sign up to our Marmot Newsletter

© Marmot Mountain Europe - All Rights Reserved
IMPRESSUM / IMPRINT

bootstrap modal popup

Was es über uns zu wissen gibt

Unsere Geschichte

Wie wir wurden, was wir heute sind.

1971

Marmot setzte sich von Beginn an das Ziel, die beste Outdoor-Bekleidung und -Ausrüstung der Welt herzustellen. Die Idee des Marmot Clubs wurde 1971 geboren, als die Studenten Eric Reynolds und Dave Huntley für ein Glaziologie-Projekt der University of California Santa Cruz auf den Junear Icefields in Alaska unterwegs waren. Bedingung für die Aufnahme in den Kletter-Club war, zusammen mit einem anderen Marmot einen vergletscherten Gipfel zu bezwingen.

1971-73

Noch im gleichen Sommer begannen Eric und Dave damit, in ihrem Wohnheim in Santa Cruz Prototypen für Daunenprodukte zu entwickeln. Eine Daunenweste, ein Sweater und ein Parka sowie drei Daunenschlafsäcke waren das Ergebnis ihres Tüftelns. Der wärmste Schlafsack, der PIKA (inzwischen als Cwm bekannt), hielt eisigen Temperaturen bis -40 Grad Celsius stand.

1973

Im Jahr 1973 gelang Eric zusammen mit Tom Boyce aus Grand Junction/Colorado die Winterbegehung des Grand Teton in Wyoming. Im darauf folgenden Frühjahr zogen Eric und Dave zu Tom nach Colorado. Dort mieteten die drei ein 100 Jahre altes Steingebäude und eröffneten unter dem Namen ‚Marmot Mountain Works’ einen Skiverleih sowie ein Geschäft für Daunenjacken und Schlafsäcke. Damit war 1974 der Grundstein der Firma Marmot gelegt.

1974

Noch im selben Herbst unternahm Tom einen Klettertrip nach Peru, wo er den Filmemacher Mike Hoover kennenlernte. Einige Wochen nach seiner Rückkehr erhielt Tom einen Anruf von Mike, der für 20th Century Fox den Film ‚The Eiger Sanction’ mit Clint Eastwood drehte. Mike benötigte dafür nicht weniger als 108 dick gefütterte Jacken. In nur einer Woche gelang es den Marmots, den ‚Golden Mantle’ zu entwickeln, einen mit Daune gefütterten Expeditionsparka.

Mobirise

1976

Eric lernte ein Jahr später, 1976, Joe Tanner von der Firma W.L. Gore & Assoc., Inc. kennen. Eric war einer der ersten in den USA, die das Konzept neuer, leistungsfähiger Outdoor-Materialien erkannten: GORE-TEX®. Er war fasziniert und innerhalb weniger Wochen nähte er einige Schlafsack-Prototypen aus dem neuen Gewebe. Zusammen mit Dave verbrachte er die folgenden sieben Nächte in einem Kühlhaus für Fleischwaren, um Schlafsäcke mit und ohne GORE-TEX® zu vergleichen. Anschließend testeten sie die Schlafsäcke unter Sprinkleranlagen und waren begeistert von den Ergebnissen.

Das Team stellte die gesamte Marmot Kollektion auf GORE-TEX® Materialien um. Marmot entwickelte den ersten GORE-TEX® Biwaksack und ein leichtes, einwandiges GORE-TEX® Zelt: das Taku. Inzwischen kann Marmot die längste Partnerschaft mit dem Membranhersteller im Outdoor-Bereich vorweisen.

1986

Marmot setzte sich von Beginn an das Ziel, die technologische und funktionelle Entwicklung im Outdoor-Bereich voran-zutreiben. So setzte Marmot 1986 mit der Herstellung der Expeditions-jacke Alpinist neue Standards im Bereich Extrem-bergsteigen und schuf damit gleichzeitig einen bis heute äußerst erfolgreichen Klassiker. Daneben entwickelte Marmot eigene Gewebe und Materialien, wie beispielsweise das wasserdichte und wasserdampfdurchlässige Marmot MemBrain® im Jahr 1995.

2002

Das Marmot Headquarter befindet sich in Rohnert Park, Kalifornien. Weitere Niederlassungen wurden in Colorado, Kanada und Hong Kong eröffnet.

Seit Mitte der 1990er Jahre gewann zudem Marmots Europa-Geschäft immer mehr an Bedeutung, sodass 2002 die Marmot Mountain Europe GmbH gegründet wurde, die von 2004-2014 ihren Sitz in Schnaittach/Deutschland hatte und 2014 ihr neues Headquarter in Schwaig bei Nürnberg bezog. 2010 wurde Marmot UK als erste Niederlassung der Marmot Mountain Europe GmbH ins Leben gerufen.

Heute

Im Laufe der Jahre wuchs Marmot beständig. Zwischen 1974 und 1977 stieg die Anzahl der Marmot Händler von sieben auf elf. Heute hat Marmot rund 650 sachkundige und geschulte Händler in den USA, in Europa sind es über 800. Seine Produkte vertreibt Marmot inzwischen in 44 Ländern. 

Morgen

Unsere Philosophie hat sich in all den Jahren nicht geändert. Innovation, Qualität, Performance und Funktionalität stehen an erster Stelle. Mehr denn je lassen wir uns von professionellen Bergführern und internationalen Spitzenathleten inspirieren, um Produkte zu entwickeln, die allen Herausforderungen gewachsen sind, vor die uns die Natur stellt.

Unsere Verantwortung

Ein dreifache Verantwortung legt den Grundstein zur Firmenphilosphie:

Mobirise

People

Schaffung von menschenwürdigen und fairen Arbeitsbedingungen,
Unterstützung sozialer Einrichtungen, Förderung einer multikulturellen Unternehmens-anschauung.

Mobirise

Product

Das Versprechen, hochwertigste Outdoor-Ausrüstung herzustellen,
die den Anforderungen von Outdoor-Enthusiasten und Expeditions-Profis gerecht werden.

Mobirise

Planet

Stetige Schritte zu nachhaltigen und umweltfreundlichen Produkten sowie einem global-ökologischen Bewusstsein.


Soziale Nachhaltigkeit

Das soziale Engagement von Marmot steht komplementär zu seinem ökologischen Engagement. Fairer Handel, die Einhaltung ethischer Prinzipien und die Unterstützung regionaler Projekte sind im Unternehmenskonzept festgeschrieben. Integrität, Respekt für das Individuum, Nachhaltigkeit, Exzellenz und Verantwortung sind Prinzipien, denen sich Marmot als Überzeigung verpflichtet hat. An seine Partner richtet Marmot die gleich hohen Anforderungen wie an sich selbst. So sind beispielsweise immer mehr Produkte von Marmot Fair Trade zertifiziert. In der so genannten „Vendor Compliance Policy“ verpflichtet Marmot seine Partner und Lieferanten einschließlich deren Subunternehmer zur Einhaltung international gültiger Standards und Normen des Arbeitsrechts. Dazu zählen unter anderem die Entlohnung mit mindestens dem gesetzlich geltenden Mindestlohn, die Begrenzung von Überstunden, die Achtung der Vereinigungsfreiheit, das Verbot von Kinder- und Zwangsarbeit, die Achtung des Prinzips der Nichtdiskriminierung und die Förderung von Sicherheit und Gesundheit am Arbeitsplatz.

Ökologische Nachhaltigkeit

Marmot engagiert sich aus Überzeugung beim Thema Nachhaltigkeit und Umweltschutz. In der Kollektion finden sich mehr und mehr Produkte aus recyceltem Polyester, biologisch angebauter Baumwolle sowie weiteren umweltverträglichen Materialien. Dabei lassen wir uns von der Prämisse leiten: Wenn wir gleiche oder sogar bessere Produktperformance mit umweltfreundlichen Geweben erreichen können, verwenden wir diese. 

Initiativen

Marmot hat bereits zur Herbst-/Winter-Saison 2015 seine Produktion zu 100% auf PFOA-freie Produkte umgestellt. Dies bedeutet, dass wir alle Produkte mit einer C8-Fluorcarbon-basierten Ausrüstung auf eine C6-Fluorcarbon-basierte Ausrüstung umgestellt haben. Die Nebenprodukte von C6 sind weniger persistent in der Umwelt und bergen ein geringeres Risiko für Menschen und Tiere.

Marmot befindet sich nun in Phase 2 des Prozesses zur Eliminierung aller PFCs aus der Produktionskette. Bereits in der Saison Herbst/Winter 2017 werden 68% unserer Produkte PFC-frei sein – ohne Auswirkung auf deren Performance und die Langlebigkeit.

100% unserer Down Defender Produkte sind bereits ab Herbst/Winter 2016 PFC-frei. Marmots Ziel ist es, bis zum Jahr 2019 alle Produkte PFC-frei herzustellen.

Marmot hat sich zur Nutzung von verantwortungsvoll gewonnener Daune verpflichtet. Marmot wendet daher den Responsible Down Standard (RDS) an – ein unabhängiger Zertifizierung-Standard, der auf die gesamte Produktionskette von Daune angewendet wird und einen würdigen Umgang mit den Tieren vom Küken bis zum Endprodukt sicherstellt. Das Ziel des RDS ist es, Rückverfolgbarkeit zu ermöglichen und die gesamte Daunenindustrie zu einem Besseren zu verändern, nicht nur die Produktionskette eines einzelnen Unternehmens.

Marmot verwendet in seinen Produkten bereits seit Herbst 2015 RDS-zertifizierte Daune. In der Saison Herbst/Winter 2017 ist die Daune in allen Marmot-Schlafsäcken sowie in allen Bekleidungsteilen erstmals zu 100% RDS-zertifiziert.

Marmot ist bluesign® Systempartner. Das bluesign® System bietet einen international anerkannten Standard für eine nachhaltige Textilproduktion sowie den Verbraucherschutz. bluesign® Systempartner sind dazu verpflichtet, das bluesign® System in der gesamten Produktionskette anzuwenden, um deren schädliche Auswirkungen auf Mensch und Umwelt zu minimieren. Das Input Stream Management stellt sicher, dass nur anerkannte chemische Produkte und Rohstoffe in allen Stufen des Herstellungsprozesses verwendet werden. Dadurch werden Stoffe, die ein Risiko für Mensch und Umwelt darstellen, von Beginn an ausgeschlossen. Mit Inspektionen vor Ort wird kontrolliert, dass die chemischen Produkte und Rohstoffe korrekt und verantwortungsvoll eingesetzt werden.

Mehr Informationen gibt es unter www.bluesign.com.

Marmot kennzeichnet alle Produkte, die aus wiederverwertetem Polyester bestehen, als UpCycle® Produkte. UpCycle® deshalb, weil aus vergleichsweise niederwertigen Rohstoffen hochwertige Produkte gefertigt werden. Mit Cocona®, einem Restprodukt aus der Wasserfilterherstellung, das mit Polyestergarn verarbeitet für Geruchs- und Feuchtigkeitskontrolle sorgt, extrem schnell trocknet und einen UV-Schutz mitbringt, zielt Marmot ebenso auf eine nachhaltige und umweltfreundliche Materialauswahl. Schließlich verwenden wir hausintern umweltfreundliche Materialien, beispielsweise bei der Wahl unseres Papiers.

Bleibe auf dem Laufenden

Zum Marmot Newsletter anmelden

© Marmot Mountain Europe - All Rights Reserved
IMPRESSUM / IMPRINT